Electronics Scotland is the new independent industry driven and funded organisation which represents the electronics sector in Scotland. It has been formed to bring together all parts of the sector from design through to manufacture.

An introduction of the organisation to the industry took place in July 1999 following the merger of two of the main industry groups previously established in Scotland. A clear mandate was given to the Board of Electronics Scotland by the industry participants to form Electronics Scotland to represent and develop the sector in Scotland, both for the political arena and through the delivery of major industry driven projects and membership services.

Electronics Scotland has an open membership policy to encourage like-minded individuals who are interested in developing the sector in a global market. Electronics Scotland recognises that changes in the sector, driven by global industry restructuring, require companies to recognise the strengths and contributions of different parts of the industry. Electronics Scotland will also seek to ensure that the research and design base is fully aware of the capabilities of the manufacturing industry in Scotland.

Memorandum of Association of Electronics Scotland
Articles of Association of Electronics Scotland

Who are our Board Members?


  • Ashley Evans – Chief Executive – Electronics Scotland
  • Hugh Aitken – Chairman – Sun Microsystems Limited
  • Bill McCrindle – The McCrindle Group
  • Jim Kennedy – Compaq Computers Ltd
  • Ann Smith – Oracle Corporation UK Ltd
  • Ian McKee
  • Chris Gracie – Scottish Optoelectronics Association
  • Jim Stewart – Agilent Technologies UK Ltd
  • Bob Downes – BT Scotland
  • Steve Beaumont – Institute for System Level Integration
  • Professor John Roulston, OBE,FRSE – BAE Systems
  • Adrian Walker – Scottish Enterprise Electronics Team

Company Secretary

  • Ann Hunter – Electronics Scotland